Go to content


Faculty and Student Honors and Achievements

Kathy photo
Dr. Kathy Svoboda has been named an ARVO Gold Fellow in the Class of 2014.  ARVO is
the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.  The title of ARVO Fellow is
an honor established to recognize current ARVO members for their individual
accomplishments, leadership and contributions to the Association.
Roesch photo
Dr. Darren Roesch, Assistant Professor, was elected Secretary of the Physiology
and Pharmacology Section of the American Dental Education Association.
Xiaofang photo


Dr. Xiaofang Wang, Assistant Professor, received the 2013 Harold M. Frost Award
from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research.  The Frost Award is the
highest ASBMR award conferred on young investigators. Dr. Wang was also
nominated as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Journal of Endodontics. 
Maria photo
Dr. Maria Serrano, PhD student, was awarded the HSC Presidential Scholarship
in the amount of $2500.

Three BMS graduate students received their degrees during commencement on May 24, 2013.  Dr. Monica Prasad Gibson was awarded her PhD; she took a position as a periodontics resident at the Ohio State University School of Dentistry.  Dr. Afsaneh Rangiani also earned a PhD and then began a residency in Orthodontics at the University of Connecticut Health Center.  Wendy Vu completed her MS and began dental school at Baylor College of Dentistry in fall 2013. 


Dr. Groppe Has Been Busy (Busier) Lately

Groppe photo

Dr. Jay Groppe, Associate Professor, attended the biennial conference of the Association of Biochemistry Course Directors (ABCD) held in Santa Fe on May 5-9, 2013.  The group is trying to increase representation from dental schools, which currently number only about a half dozen in the association. The meeting provided an opportunity to learn about other curricula, teaching modalities, means to increase relevance and strategies for assisting students that struggle with the topic.

Dr. Groppe has also taken over the duties of representative on the TAMU Council of Principal Investigators from Dr. Lynne Opperman, Professor, to ensure that the college continues to maintain an ear and a voice in the university research council.



BMS Faculty Involved in Regional Society Meeting

 The RegionFeng talk photoal Meeting of the American Association of Anatomists was held on October 12, 2013, at the Roberts Hospital meeting facilities of Baylor University Medical Center, adjacent to Baylor College of Dentistry.  Three Biomedical Sciences faculty, Drs. Kathy Svoboda (Chair), Lynne Opperman (AAA President) and Robert Spears, served on the organizing committee for the meeting.  Dr. Spears also spoke at the meeting on “Qualifications for Anatomical Teaching – Credentials Necessary for Accreditation and How it Really Works!”  Dr. Svoboda gave a presentation on” Careers in Anatomy” and two other Baylor College of Dentistry personnel also spoke:  Dr. Bonnie Bloom (“Herbivore, Carnivore, Omnivore: Dentistry in Zoo and Companion Animals”) and Dr. Diane Flint (“Head and Neck Anatomy in Three Dimensions”).  Several BMS students and postdocs participated in presenting platform talks or poster presentations, including Leslie Smith, Maria Serrano, Yan Jing, Mikhail Umorin, and Yinshi Ren. Yinshi won first place in the graduate student division for his platorm presentation entitled "Osteocyte changes in osteoporosis may be significant for disease development: An assessment with multiple quantitative and qualitative techniques."    Yan Jing was awarded second place in the graduate student poster category for her poster on "Direct transformation of osteocytes from chondrocytes accelerates subchondral osteosclerosis in OA patients."  The awards were presented by Dr. Phil Brauer from the Creighton University School of Medicine.  Dr. Brauer is the Chair of the AAA Professional Development Committee.


        Yan award photo

Yan Jing (on the left) is shown with Dr. Brauer
and another award recipient.


Renny award photo









Yinshi Ren is pictured with Dr. Brauer.