Go to content

Emeritus professors

                 Dr. Roger Alexander
Drs. Roger Alexander and William W. Hallmon recently were awarded “emeritus” designation by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents. Emeritus titles are conferred upon individuals who have made significant contributions to the system through “long and distinguished service in administration, teaching, research and/or service.”

Alexander was formally bestowed professor emeritus status on March 26. Hallmon was named professor emeritus on Sept. 25.

Alexander, adjunct professor in oral and maxillofacial surgery, formally retired in 2007 after teaching full time for 17 years at HSC-Baylor College of Dentistry. He served as professor and director of undergraduate surgical education in oral and maxillofacial surgery. He still serves the college part time.

Alexander is currently editor for Dateline, the publication of the Dallas County Dental Society. An article he wrote for the Texas Dental Journal won a 2008 Golden Pen Award from the International College of Dentists and the American Association of Dental Editors.

A diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Alexander is a fellow of the International College of Dentists, the American College of Dentists, the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and the Southwest Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

He joined the college in 1990 after a 26-year career in the U.S. Navy, where he retired at the rank of captain. He is the former director of surgical services, head of the dental department and chief of oral and maxillofacial surgery at Naval Hospital Camp Pendleton in California.

Alexander earned his doctor of dental surgery degree from Marquette University School of Dentistry in Milwaukee before completing his oral and maxillofacial surgery residency at Naval Regional Medical Center in Philadelphia.

           Dr. William W. Hallmon
Hallmon retired in December 2008 from his position as Regents professor and chair of the Department of Periodontics. He had been a full-time faculty member at HSC-BCD since 1993.

Hallmon served as department chair for seven years. He directed the college’s graduate periodontics program, serving on 41 master’s thesis committees and guiding many residents to win national awards. He has written more than 40 peer-reviewed articles, contributed to five books and lectured in Brazil, Korea, Mexico and throughout the United States.

In April 2008, Hallmon was honored as “Profesor Preclaro” (Distinguished Professor) in a university-wide ceremony at the Universidad Quetzalcoatl Irapuato in Irapuato, Mexico. The award is the university’s highest honor. Additionally, the university’s Department of Periodontics named its clinic in Hallmon’s honor.

Hallmon also received the 2008 Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award from the American Academy of Periodontology, which recognizes exemplary periodontal faculty members for distinguished contributions as teachers and mentors. Hallmon has served on numerous AAP scientific and education committees and task forces. He has previously received an AAP fellowship award and currently serves on an AAP Foundation committee.

Prior to joining HSC-BCD in 1993, Hallmon had a distinguished 24-year teaching career with the U.S. Air Force, most recently as chair of its Advanced Training Program in Periodontics in San Antonio.