Go to content

Awards & Honors - November 2008

Back to Record Front Page

Distinguished Alumni awards

Peggy Ward Countryman and Dr. Tom McDougal will be presented the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Awards at the HSC-Baylor College of Dentistry Alumni Homecoming Reception Jan. 23 at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas.

NAMME scholarship

Second-year dental student Charla Newhouse was named a recipient of the National Association of Medical Minority Educators Scholarship at the group’s annual meeting Sept. 17-21 in Washington, D.C.

Solomon in ACD

Dr. Eric S. Solomon, executive director of institutional research for Texas A&M Health Science Center, was formally inducted as a fellow of the American College of Dentists during the group’s annual meeting Oct. 16 in San Antonio.

Feng abstract

Dr. Jerry Feng, professor in biomedical sciences, was part of a team that won the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Most Outstanding Abstract Award at the organization’s annual meeting in Montreal Sept. 12-16.

Alexander contributes winning article

Dr. Roger Alexander, adjunct professor in oral surgery, wrote an article that helped the Texas Dental Journal win the 2008 Golden Pen Award in October from the International College of Dentists and the American Association of Dental Editors.

Young Investigator

Dr. Baichun Jiang, a research assistant in the biomedical sciences department, won a Young Investigator Award from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research at the group’s annual meeting in Montreal Sept. 12-16.