Go to content

Record Online - May 2009

BDRO header image

Graduates celebrate new beginnings

Commencement 2009Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry held commencement exercises May 13 at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas.

In all, 89 doctor of dental surgery graduates participated in commencement and 30 dental hygiene graduates received bachelor’s degrees at the ceremony. Additionally, 23 students earned specialty certificates, 10 received master’s degrees and one received a Ph.D.

Top dental and dental hygiene honors were announced during the ceremony. Dental honors were presented to Dr. Ryan Hinckley, gold medal and Alpha Omega Scholastic Award; Dr. Laura Ryan, second scholastic honors; Dr. Quyen Huynh, third scholastic honors; and Dr. Ursula Price, fourth scholastic honors.

Dental hygiene honors went to Elizabeth Ayala, gold medal; Karen Delaney, second scholastic honors; and Erum Khanani, third scholastic honors.

The Teachers of the Year carried the college’s ceremonial mace during the commencement processional and recessional. Dr. Kay Mash, associate professor in restorative sciences, was the dental honoree. Kathleen Muzzin, associate professor, was the honoree within HSC-BCD’s Caruth School of Dental Hygiene.

Dr. Frank Eggleston served as keynote speaker. A 1970 graduate of HSC-BCD and president-elect of the American Academy of Restorative Dentistry, Eggleston practices general dentistry in Houston. He is a past president of the Texas Dental Association and the Baylor College of Dentistry Alumni Association. He received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Baylor College of Dentistry in 1996 and the TDA Gold Medal for Distinguished Service Award in 2004. He was recently elected to the board of directors of the Baylor Oral Health Foundation.