Go to content

Sharma ASIOA president

Dr. SharmaDr. Avadhesh C. Sharma, associate professor in biomedical sciences, was elected president of the Association of Scientists of Indian Origin in America during the group’s annual meeting Jan. 17-19 in Denton, Texas.

The ASIOA was formed in 1981 to promote fellowship among scientists of Indian origin living in America. The organization acts as a scientific and educational society, a fraternal organization and a charitable association. Sharma has been a member of ASIOA since 1995 and recently completed a term as vice president. His presidency runs until the group’s next national meeting in January 2011.

“Indian scientists have had astounding success in the progress and development of the United States in all major fields ranging from science and technology to administration and politics,” Sharma says. The ASIOA national meetings “provide a forum for scientists of various disciplines to foster collaboration and interaction.”

In addition to his election during the recent ASIOA meeting, Sharma chaired a breakout session and gave five presentations (see department news).

Sharma has been a faculty member at HSC-BCD since 2005, teaching pharmacology to both dental students and graduate students. He holds a Ph.D. in pharmacology from Panjab University in India and a pharmacy degree from Midwestern University in Illinois.