Go to content

Awards & Honors - March 2009

BDRO Header

Back to Record Front Page

Bruce scholarship

Senior dental hygiene student Neelie Bruce received the B.J. Long Memorial Scholarship from the Dallas Dental Hygienists’ Society at the group’s “Student Night” Feb. 12.

Gutmanns emeritus status

Retired HSC-Baylor College of Dentistry professors Marylou Gutmann and Dr. James Gutmann are celebrating a distinguished honor they received nearly at the same time: both have been named emeritus professors.

Svoboda named fellow

Dr. Kathy Svoboda, professor and vice chair of biomedical sciences, will be formally acknowledged as a fellow of the American Association of Anatomists during the group’s banquet April 21 in New Orleans.

Chopra junior scientist

Mani Chopra, a doctoral candidate in biomedical sciences, won second place in the Junior Scientist Award from the Association of Scientists of Indian Origin in America at the group’s national meeting in Denton, Texas, Jan. 17-19. The award included a $175 stipend and a certificate.