Go to content

Bruce scholarship

BruceSenior dental hygiene student Neelie Bruce received the B.J. Long Memorial Scholarship from the Dallas Dental Hygienists’ Society at the group’s “Student Night” Feb. 12.

The scholarship recognizes a senior dental hygiene student based on grade point average, leadership qualities, professional goals and financial need. Students also must have a letter of recommendation from a faculty member. Bruce’s letter of support came from JoAnn Scofield, dental hygiene associate professor and clinic coordinator.

Bruce says she was “extremely excited” when her name was announced as the scholarship winner at the DDHS meeting.

“After two years of hard work and dedication, it is an honor to receive an award like this,” she says. “I am eager about starting my future career in dental hygiene.”

Amy Frederiksen, the president of DDHS and a 2002 graduate of the Caruth School of Dental Hygiene, presented Bruce with the $500 scholarship.