Go to content

Awards & Honors

Dean Emeritus and President Richard E. BradleyDean Emeritus and President Richard E. Bradley received two prestigious awards at the annual meeting of the American Dental Association Sept. 27-30, 2007, in San Francisco.

Bradley accepted the William John Gies Award from the American College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Gold Medal from the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

The Gies Award is the highest honor the ACD can bestow upon a fellow of the organization. Named after William J. Gies, who was instrumental in shaping the college and the entire dental profession, this award has been given since 1940 and recognizes fellows who have made truly unique and exceptional contributions to advancing the profession and its service to society.

The Fauchard Gold Medal is presented annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the progress and standing of the dental profession. The recipient is nominated by the Committee of Past Recipients which includes all living past recipients of the medal, and must be approved by the academy’s board of trustees.

Bradley served as president and dean of HSC-Baylor College of Dentistry from 1980-1990. Under his leadership, research at the college flourished. Faculty presentations at national and international professional societies more than tripled, and the number of papers published by faculty in scholarly journals more than doubled. Bradley served on the National Institutes of Health’s National Advisory Committee for Dental Research from 1977-1981.