Go to content

Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College Of Dentistry Online News

HSC-BCD’s annual Research Day was held March 12 at the college. Student researchers presented oral and poster presentations, which were evaluated by a team of faculty judges. Results for dental students are listed below:

DDS Poster Division:

  • First Place:    Vikram Gandhi, D2 (Dr. Chunlin Qin, assistant professor in biomedical sciences, mentor)
  • Second Place:    Amanda Krysiak, D2 (Dr. Marie Koike, visiting assistant professor in biomaterials science, mentor)
  • Third Place:    Sarah Parker, D2 (Dr. Peter Buschang, professor in orthodontics, mentor)
  • Fourth Place:    Niyati Mehta, D2 (Dr. Lynne Opperman, associate professor of biomedical sciences and director of technology development, mentor)
  • Honorable Mention:    Sara Mouzi, D2 (Dr. Fen Wang, assistant professor at HSC-Institute of Biosciences and Technology, mentor)

DDS Oral Division:

  • First Place:    Summer Owens, D2 (Dr. Bob Hinton, professor in biomedical sciences, mentor)
  • Second Place:    Joseph Kayne, D2 (Dr. Lynne Opperman, mentor)

In other student research news, Sarah Parker received the ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Award and will represent HSC-BCD at the 2008 American Dental Association meeting in San Antonio.

The following students were chosen to represent HSC-BCD at the 2008 Hinman National Student Research Symposium in Memphis, Tenn:

Amber Ansari, Trevor Bodine, Vikram Gandhi, Harold Kamara, Joseph Kayne, Nora Kweik, Mark Martinsen, Niyati Mehta, Summer Owens, Purvi Patel, and Johnny Reed. All are second-year students except first-year student Niyati Mehta.