Go to content
BDRO Header

Department News - May 2012

Biomedical Sciences


Dr. Kathy Svoboda spoke at the 12th Annual Career Development Program and Lunch, titled “Fundamental Basics for Success: How to Write Award-Winning Grant Proposals,” sponsored by the American Society for Investigative Pathology. Svoboda’s presentation, given April 22 in San Diego, was titled “Funding Mechanisms at NIH and Other Agencies.” 


Dental Hygiene 


During the Dallas Dental Hygienists’ Society April 5 meeting at Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry, the organization’s current president, Chrissy Samples ’07, welcomed Texas Dental Hygiene Association President Olivia Schreiner, and DDHS members judged DH2 table clinics.

Winners were as follows:

  • First place: Emily Wilpitz and Theresa Curry, “The Truth about Plastics and the Role of Bisphenol-A (BPA),” with Kathleen Muzzin as faculty mentor
  • Second place: Neema and Nessa Placheril, “Are you wheezing your way into caries?” with Stephanie Spann as faculty mentor
  • Third place: Nena Velazquez and Lana Bertinetti, “Dissolvable Tobacco Products: What do You Actually Know?” with Mary Vu as faculty mentor


DDHS Table Clinic Winners 2012 DDHS Table Clinic Winners 2012 DDHS Table Clinic Winners 2012
Samples; first-place winners
Theresa Curry and Emily Wilpitz; and
TDHA president Olivia Schreiner.
second-place winners Nessa and
Neema Placheril; and
third-place winners Nena Velazquez and
Lana Bertinetti;
and Schreiner.

Photo courtesy Lana Crawford

Financial Services


During an April 4 Princeton Review predental forum at the University of Texas at Arlington, several representatives from the college were panelists to an audience of approximately 50 students. Kay Egbert answered questions about paying for dental school. Dr. Barbara Miller, who oversees recruitment and admissions, offered guidance on the applications process and D4 Shane Whisenant discussed gaining practical experience during the four years of dental school.


Office of Advancement, Communications & Alumni Relations


Dr. Linda Niessen was honored with a presidential citation on March 18 at the 2012 American Dental Education Association Annual Session & Exhibition. Niessen, who is a vice president and chief clinical officer for Dentsply International in addition to her administrative and faculty appointments at TAMHSC-BCD, was one of seven recipients to be recognized for contributions to the organization and dental education. Niessen also serves on the American College of Dentists board of regents and Oral Health America board of directors.


Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery


Dr. Roger Alexander presented a full day of continuing dental education at Marquette University School of Dentistry in Milwaukee on March 30. Alexander's topics were "Rethinking the Generationally-Perpetuated Myths of Dentoalveolar Surgery" and "Ten Steps You Can Take Now to Prepare for Medical Emergencies."


The Center for Maxillofacial Prosthodontics was represented at the Academy of Osseointegration meeting, which was March 1-3 in Phoenix. Dr. Jorge Gonzales displayed his research, “Gingival Architecture Contouring: The Development of Anatomical Healing Abutments and Impression Copings” in a poster competition during the annual meeting, which draws academy members representing nearly 70 countries.

View Dr. Gonzalez's research poster




Dr. Ibtisam Al-Hashimi was invited as a chairperson to the AEEDC Dubai Conference’s “Periodontal Corrective Considerations” presentation. The conference was Jan. 31 to Feb. 2.

Al-Hashimi also attended the 2012 American Association for Dental Research annual meeting from March 21 to 24, where she served as group program chair of the Salivary Research Group of the International Association for Dental Research.


Restorative Sciences


Dr. Erick Lachner, a prosthodontic resident and Nobel Biocare Implant fellow at the Center for Maxillofacial Prosthodontics, also represented the college at the Academy of Osseointegration meeting with his poster presentation, titled “Efficacy of the Encode Impression System vs. the Implant Level Impression.” Researchers and faculty advisers include Drs. Elias Kontogiorgos, Ronald Woody and William Nagy.

View Dr. Lachner's research poster


Editor’s note: This Department News page may not include all faculty presentations given or awards received at the AADR and ADEA meetings. If you have an item you’d like to add for the June issue, please send it to Jenny Fuentes at jfuentes@bcd.tamhsc.edu.