Go to content
BDRO Header


Department News - July/August 2012

Biomedical Sciences


Kramer PR, Bellinger LL. Modulation of temporomandibular joint nociception and inflammation in male rats after administering a physiological concentration of 17β-oestradiol. European Journal of Pain 2012; (June 19 Epub ahead of print).

The above article is featured on The TMJ Association Ltd. website, in their column titled “The Latest in TMJ Science.” The TMJ Association provides information for those who suffer from pain in the temporomandibular joint and surrounding tissues and who experience limitations in jaw movement because of TMJ problems.

Puri J, Vinothini P, Reuben J, Bellinger LL, Ailing L, Peng YB, Kramer PR. Reduced GABA(A) receptor α6 expression in the trigeminal ganglion alters inflammatory TMJ hypersensitivity. Neuroscience 2012; 213:179-190.

Sachar A, Strom TA, Serrano MJ, Benson MD, Opperman LA, Svoboda KK, Liu X. Osteoblasts responses to three-dimensional nanofibrous gelatin scaffolds. Journal of Biomedical Materials Research 2012; (June 15 Epub ahead of print).

San Miguel SM, Opperman LA, Allen EP, Zielinski J, Svoboda KK. Bioactive polyphenol antioxidants protect oral fibroblasts from ROS-inducing agents. Archives of Oral Biology 2012; (May 28 Epub ahead of print).

Hale R, Gatti R, Glickman GN, Opperman LA. Comparative analysis of carrier-based obturation and lateral compaction: A retrospective clinical outcomes study. International Journal of Dentistry 2012; (April 11 Epub ahead of print).

San Miguel SM, Opperman LA et al. Antioxidant combinations protect oral fibroblasts against metal-induced toxicity. Archives of Oral Biology (in press).

Shibazaki-Yorozuya R, Wang Q, Dechow PC, Maki K, Opperman LA. Changes in biomechanical strain and morphology of rat calvarial sutures and bone after Tgf-β3 inhibition of posterior interfrontal suture fusion. Anatomical Record 2012; 295:928-938.

Liu X, Holzwarth J, Ma PX. Functionalized biodegradable polymer scaffolds for tissue engineering. Macromolecular Bioscience 2012; (Epub ahead of print).

Sun C, Jin X, Holzwarth JM, Liu X, Hu J, Gupte MJ, Zhao Y, Ma PX. Development of channeled nanofibrous scaffolds for oriented tissue engineering. Macromolecular Bioscience 2012; 12:761-769.



Dr. Xiaohua Liu gave the following invited presentations during a recent trip to China:

  • “Nano-Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering” at the School of Stomatology, Jilin University on June 7.
  • “Biomaterial and Tissue Regeneration in Dental Medicine” at the West China College of Stomatology, Sichuan University on June 4.
  • “Nanofibers for Tissue Regeneration” at the School of Stomatology, Wuhan University on May 31.
  • “Nano-Biomaterials and Molecular Delivery for Tissue Regeneration” at the Institute seminar, Institute of Polymer Science and Engineering, Tsinghua University on May 29.



Dr. Lynne Opperman was invited to serve on the Texas A&M University-Health Science Center Merger Committee, which is exploring the reintegration of the health science center into Texas A&M University. The committee is charged with producing a report on the challenges and opportunities associated with such a merger. Faculty input to the committee has been solicited through the speakers of the health science center and Texas A&M University senates — Drs. Anthony Bolin and John Stallone, respectively — and the president-elect of the Council of Principal Investigators, Dr. Reza Langari.




Dr. Eric Vela ’10 was one of two honorable mention recipients in the College of Diplomates Resident Case Display Program, which occurred during the American Association of Orthodontists 2012 Annual Session. This year, 48 schools participated, and just one resident’s case was published in the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics.

Criteria for judging include ‘completeness and quality of records, final result, case write-ups and unique features from pretreatment to final result.’

Vela now practices in Alice and Corpus Christi, Texas.




Griffiths G. Bone Density Around Endosseous Implants in Patients Taking Alendronate: A Pilot Study. International Journal of Periodontics and Restorative Dentistry 2012: 32(3). 



Dr. Patricia Blanton received the Texas Dental Association Gold Medal for Distinguished Service during the 2012 annual session in San Antonio. Blanton is the 16th TDA member to receive the award, which is only given to one dentist each year.

To be considered for the award, recipients must have shown a commitment to organized dentistry through leadership positions at the state and national level. Among other requirements, they also must have contributed to the local dental community.

Dr. Patricia Blanton

Dr. Patricia Blanton, Baylor College of Dentistry 2011 Hall of Fame recipient, received the Gold Medal for Distinguished
Service during the Texas Dental Association annual meeting.

Photo courtesy Texas Dental Association

Dr. Nancy Burkhart was presented with a Mentor of Distinction Award at the American Dental Hygienists’ Association 89th Annual Session in Phoenix on June 15.

Philips Consumer Lifestyle and Pennwell Corp. provided the award, which was presented for the first time this year, for Burkhart’s work with the college’s International Oral Lichen Planus Support Group.

Dr. Jacqueline Plemons was installed as incoming president of the Dallas County Dental Society on May 17 at the Hilton Dallas/Park Cities.

Dr. Brad Crump is serving as a committee member to the State and Regional Assembly Coordinating Committee of the American Academy of Periodontology. This committee oversees and directs the activities of state-appointed liaisons to improve communications between each state’s AAP board of trustees and members. The position is a one-year appointment, with reappointment at the committee chair’s discretion.



Dr. Jeffrey Rossmann attended the American Board of Periodontology workshop and business meeting as a new board director. From May 4-11, he completed the oral examination for 200 candidates seeking board certification.

Angela Noles served as Western Regional Examining Board auxiliary supervisor for the examination in Dallas from May 3-7.

Rossmann and periodontic residents Drs. Stacy Beltran, Harrison Parks and Sam Ellsworth attended the Osteogenics Global Bone Grafting Symposium in San Antonio from April 20-21.

Dr. Celeste Abraham attended the American Academy of Oral Medicine 66th Annual Meeting in Charleston, S.C., from April 17-21.