Go to content
BDRO Header

Here by association

Baylor College of Dentistry Alumni Association Homecoming Reception

D4 Josh de Graffenried was
presented with the Betty J. Scott
Scholarship during the
Jan. 13 alumni association
homecoming reception.

Photos by Steven Doll

Alumni converge at Dallas’ Adolphus Hotel to catch up with classmates and honor award recipients

The Grand Ballroom at the historic Adolphus Hotel downtown served as a gathering place for 170 attendees during the Jan. 13 Baylor College of Dentistry Alumni Association Homecoming Reception.

The annual cocktail-hour function coincides with the Southwest Dental Conference, so it draws alumni from the far reaches of Texas’ borders and beyond, offering the perfect opportunity to honor current and former students.

Fourth-year dental student Josh de Graffenried was presented with the Betty J. Scott Scholarship, and Dr. Amp Miller III, restorative sciences professor and academic affairs director, was presented with the 2011 Distinguished Alumnus Award. Dr. Lawrence Wolinsky, dean, addressed those assembled and issued an impassioned statement to alumni: that he is committed to keeping them involved at the dental school and always welcomes their feedback.

Betty J. Scott Scholarship

De Graffenried was recognized as the second recipient of the $4,000 award, created in honor of Betty Scott, longtime registrar at the college, who retired in 1992. Scott mandated the criteria for the endowed scholarship: that the student possesses “head skills, hand skills and heart skills.”

When he learned of his selection, de Graffenied expressed his excitement.

“Ms. Scott has supported and encouraged Baylor students for many years, and it is an honor to be chosen for the scholarship,” he said.

2011 Baylor College of Dentistry Distinguished Alumnus Award

Miller ’73 was presented with the BCD Alumni Association’s highest honor, the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Also the 2011 Dental Teacher of the Year, Miller has served the dental school as a full-time faculty member since 1989. He is a current examiner and team captain for the Western Regional Examining Board, past chair of the Department of Restorative Sciences, and past president of the American Academy of Restorative Dentistry.

Baylor College of Dentistry Alumni Association Homecoming Reception
From left to right: Dr. Jack Long, associate dean for student affairs; Dr. Barbara Miller, associate professor,
and executive director of recruitment and admissions; and Dr. Amp Miller III, 2011 distinguished alumnus,
and professor and director of academic affairs.