Go to content

Department News - June 2011

Biomedical Sciences


A postdoctoral fellow and a graduate student from biomedical sciences competed for awards this spring.

Dr. Maria Serrano, postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Kathy Svoboda’s lab, was one of just six finalists nationwide in the American Association for Dental Research/Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Products Hatton Awards Competition in San Diego.

Finalists were selected based on an oral presentation, which was meant to exhibit their potential for productive dental research careers.

Dr. Ashneet Sachar, a graduate student, was a finalist for the American Association of Anatomists Langman Award for graduate student platform presentations.  The award carried with it $500 and a certificate during the association’s April 12 awards banquet.

Communications & Institutional Advancement


Susan Mitchell Jackson and Lori Dees represented Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry at the Executive Women International March membership meeting at The Ballpark in Arlington. 

Both are active EWI members and serve on the communications committee, assisting with writing articles for the chapter’s monthly newsletter. Dees is coordinating this publication for the 2010-2011 year.

Communications & Institutional Advancement
Susan Mitchell-Jackson (middle)
and Lori Dees (right), both in
communications and institutional

EWI of Dallas brings together key individuals from diverse businesses for the purpose of promoting member firms, enhancing personal and professional development and encouraging community involvement. Throughout the year the organization brings in dynamic speakers, holds “firm nights” to promote member firms, awards scholarships and participates in numerous worthwhile philanthropic endeavors. 

EWI members also raise much needed funds for the chapter’s EWI Scholarship Program for high school juniors and seniors as well as its scholarships for Adult Students in Scholastic Transition.

Dental Hygiene


Stacy Pettit was selected as the graduate award winner of the ADHA-sponsored Sigma Phi Alpha Journalism Competition. Pettit received $1,000 for the manuscript, which will be published in the Journal of Dental Hygiene.

Faculty spanning multiple departments helped coauthor the paper, “Dimensions of Oral Healthcare Management in Texas Hospitals.” Dr. Ann McCann, professor and director of planning and assessment, was Pettit’s mentor and second author for the master’s thesis. Dr. Emet Schneiderman, associate professor in biomedical sciences, and Dr. Pat Campbell, associate professor and graduate program director in dental hygiene, also contributed.