Go to content

Faculty Retreat focuses on CODA preparation

Faculty recognized

“CODA 2011: Preparation for Success” was the theme of Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry’s Annual Faculty Retreat on Jan. 6. Multiple presentations were made after opening remarks by Dr. Lavern Holyfield, associate professor and director of faculty development at the college.

Dr. Charles Berry, associate dean for academic affairs and chair of the CODA Self-Study Steering Committee, led with an overview of the self-study process and, later, shared tips for success and the CODA Standards for 2012.  Three updates were provided, including:

  • Faculty Code of Conduct Document by Holyfield;
  • Evidence-based Dentistry at BCD by Dr. Robert Hinton, Regents professor and director of undergraduate teaching and faculty mentoring in biomedical sciences; and
  • SACS Quality Enhancement Plan by Dr. Beverly York, assistant professor of restorative sciences.

Additional reports were provided by representatives from each of the predoctoral, dental hygiene and advanced education subcommittees, including:

  • Standard 1: Institutional Effectiveness by Dr. Ann McCann, director of planning and assessment;
  • Standard 2: Educational Program by Dr. Amp Miller, director of curriculum;
  • Standard 3: Faculty and Staff by Dr. Harvey Kessler, associate professor of diagnostic sciences;
  • Standard 4: Educational Support Services by Dr. Jack Long, associate dean for student affairs;
  • Standard 5: Patient Care Services by Dr. Dean Hudson, associate dean for clinical affairs;
  • Standard 6: Research Program by Dr. Larry Bellinger, Regents professor and associate dean for research and graduate studies;
  • Dental Hygiene Self-Study Report by Dr. Janice DeWald, director of TAMHSC-BCD’s Caruth School of Dental Hygiene; and
  • Advanced Education Self-Study Reports by Bellinger and Dr. William Nagy, professor of restorative sciences.

The meeting also featured several CODA current site visitors/evaluators who enlightened attendees with their retrospective perceptions of previous visits and suggestions for a successful self-study and site visit. The presenters for this section included Juanna Moore, associate dean for finance and administration; Dr. Bob Hutchins and Dr. Robert Spears, both associate professors of biomedical sciences; and Dr. John Wright, Regents professor and chair of diagnostic sciences.

“At the end of the day, most participants should have had a clearer perspective on expectations and desired actions for the October 2011 CODA site visit,” said Holyfield. “I anticipate that the college will have a successful review.”

Outstanding faculty recognized

A highlight of the retreat was the presentation of the 2011 faculty awards by Dr. James Cole, TAMHSC-BCD dean, and Holyfield.

The Teaching Excellence Award went to Dr. Diane Flint, assistant professor of diagnostic sciences and an oral and maxillofacial radiologist. Hutchins collected the Distinguished Teaching Award. Both these awardees received a $1,000 merit increase in base salary and a one-time grant of $1,000 to create new teaching techniques and methods.

York accepted the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award.  It entitles her to a one-time merit award of $1,000 or up to $1,500 in travel funds for a professional meeting or conference.