Go to content

BCD Alums honored with AGD fellowships and masterships

AGD LogoSeveral Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry alumni were honored by the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) for their commitment to excellence in dental education. Presented July 10 during the organization’s annual meeting in New Orleans, the awards of Fellowship and Mastership are conferred on “dentists looking to provide the highest quality of dental care by remaining current in their profession.”

To receive the Fellowship award, AGD members must complete 500 hours of continuing dental education, pass a comprehensive written exam and fulfill three years of continual membership. HSC-BCD alumni who received this award include:

  • Dr. Ben Bratcher ’90
  • Dr. Dave Carpenter ’83
  • Dr. Linda Cheng ’99
  • Dr. Shandon Colter ’99
  • Dr. Joseph de Graffenried ’86
  • Dr. Jarred Donald ’00
  • Dr. James Holt ’95
  • Dr. Kathy McRobbie ’94
  • Dr. Amos Ross ’74
  • Dr. Majid Sehat ’98
  • Dr. Aly Sergie ’06
  • Dr. John Thompson ’88
  • Dr. Thu Tran ’05
  • Dr. Anna Willison ’94
Mastership is the next step in the award process and one of the most respected designations in the dental profession. To accomplish this, AGD members must complete a total of 1,100 hours of continuing dental education in the 16 disciplines of dentistry, including 400 hours dedicated to hands-on skills and techniques. HSC-BCD alumni who received this award include:
  • Dr. Vernon Nesmith ’78
  • Dr. Melissa Scaggs ’01
  • Dr. Steven Thompson ’94
  • Dr. Jill Wade ’96