Go to content

Baylor Dental Journal

Read Class Notes 


Dr. W.D. Northcutt III was honored by the Rotary Club of Longview, Texas, with one of its highest honors: 2010 Longview Rotary Club Citizen of the Year. Among his many notable contributions to the community, Northcutt has served on the Longview City Council, the Gregg County Historical Commission and Historical Foundation, the Trinity School of Texas, and the Longview Rotary Club, which he served as president. 


Dr. Gene Huff was honored by The Texas Dental Association in May 2010 with the 50 Year Award. The award is given in honor of dentists who have been actively involved with the organization for 50 years.


Frieda Atherton Pickett has collaborated with Dr. David Kaelber, assistant professor of internal medicine and pediatrics with the MetroHealth System at Case Western Reserve University, on a simple table for identifying the pediatric patient who needs evaluation for blood pressure elevations. Their work was published in the June 2009 issue of Pediatrics and was listed as one of the top 10 most important research papers having clinical relevance in pediatric medicine from March 2009-February 2010 by Contemporary Pediatrics.


Dr. N. Sue Seale, Regents Professor in the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, became editor in chief of Pediatric Dentistry and the Journal of Dentistry for Children on Jan. 1, 2010.


Dr. Stan Ashworth was honored with fellowship in the International College of Dentists at a formal ceremony Oct. 8, 2010, during the American Dental Association annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. Ashworth is an associate professor in general dentistry at Texas A&M Health Science Center Baylor College of Dentistry.

Dr. John Kriz received the 2010 Idaho State Dental Association President’s Award. The award was given in appreciation and recognition of his outstanding service to the ISDA, the profession of dentistry and the people of the state of Idaho. Now retired, Kriz is co-founder and secretary-treasurer of the Children’s Free Dental Clinic, a nonprofit organization that provides limited dental services to students in the Boise School District, among other volunteer and leadership activities.


Dr. Bob Morgan was elected to serve as president of the medical/dental staff at Children’s Medical Center in Dallas. He is the first dentist ever elected to serve in the position at Children’s, which was named one of the top 10 pediatric hospitals in the nation. Morgan maintains private practices in Irving and Richardson, Texas. Additionally, he is a clinical assistant professor in the pediatric dentistry department at BCD.


Dr. Gayle Glenn (Ortho) of Dallas was elected secretary-treasurer of the American Association of Orthodontists in May 2011 during the AAO’s 111thth Annual Session in Chicago. She has served the organization in various leadership roles since 2004.


Dr. Kathy Hamilton joined the Baylor Oral Health Foundation board of directors in February 2010. She is a principal with Phase II Associates, LLC in Dallas, a specialty dental practice brokerage and consulting group. Prior to receiving her MBA from the University of Texas at Dallas, she was a practicing dentist in Dallas and received her dental degree from TAMHSC-BCD in 1985. Before entering dental school, Hamilton was a dental hygienist in Pennsylvania and Dallas. She is active in many professional and civic organizations, including the American Dental Association, Texas Dental Association, the Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce, CEO Roundtable and Leadership Dallas Mentoring Program. She has published numerous articles for business and medical publications.


Dr. Jackie Plemons was honored with fellowship in the International College of Dentists at a formal ceremony Oct. 8, 2010, during the American Dental Association annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. Plemons is a professor in periodontics at BCD.


Dr. Brent Hutson was honored with fellowship in the International College of Dentists at a formal ceremony Oct. 8, 2010, during the American Dental Association annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. Hutson is an associate professor in restorative sciences at BCD.


Jon Wheeler, who completed TAMHSC-BCD’s pediatric dentistry graduate program in 2001, was named to the 2009 “Aggie 100” – a list of the 100 fastest-growing businesses in the world owned by Texas A&M University alumni. Wheeler’s private pediatric dentistry practice in The Woodlands, Texas, founded in 2004, was number 68 on the list. Wheeler attributes his success to the college, its pediatric dentistry department and former chair Dr. Suzi Seale. The Aggie 100 was created by the Center for New Ventures and Entrepreneurship at Texas A&M’s Mays Business School. 


Dr. Xochitl Anderton received the 2010 Emerging Leader award from The Geiger Gibson Program in Community Health Policy of The George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services in Washington, D.C. The award was presented to Anderton for her extraordinary service and leadership in clinical management as the dental director for the Community Health Center of Lubbock, Texas. The CHCL serves the underserved citizens from Lubbock, Crosby, Lynn, Terry, and Garza counties in Texas. It has four dental clinics including one mobile dental unit. 


Dr. Kelton Stewart provided TAMHSC-BCD’s 2010 commencement address on May 27 at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. Stewart is an assistant professor of orthodontics at Indiana University School of Dentistry.


Dr. Christopher C. Massey won the 2011 Harry Sicher Research Award from the American Association of Orthodontists, given to the best clinical research paper related to orthodontics. The award was presented May 14 in Chicago during the AAO annual session. Massey’s study is titled “The Effect of Force on Dentoalveolar Bone Surrounding Miniscrew Implants – a 3D µCT Study.” Massey and his wife, Kimberly, have one son, Austin. They live in Lubbock, Texas, where he practices at St. Clair Orthodontics.


Dr. Aaron Cho (Prosth) took first-place honors in the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics’ Stanley D. Tylman Research Competition for 2010. He presented his master’s thesis research, “The Effect of Multiple Firings on the Marginal Integrity of Pressable Ceramic Single Crowns,” during the organization’s 60th annual meeting Feb. 25-26, 2011, in Chicago. Cho is an assistant professor of prosthodontics in the Department of General Dental Sciences at Marquette University School of Dentistry in Milwaukee.

Dr. Adam J. Ortega (Ortho) won the 2011 Thomas M. Graber Award of Special Merit from the American Association of Orthodontists for his project titled “Local Application of the Bisphosphonate Zoledronate for Maximum Anchorage During Extraction Space Closure.” The award was presented May 14 in Chicago during the AAO annual session. Ortega and his wife, Lauren, live in Dallas with their two daughters, Ava and Layla. He started White Rock Orthodontics in 2011.

Brian Schweers was the first recipient of the Dental Hygiene Senior Class Scholarship in spring 2010. The new “pay it forward” scholarship, the brainchild of Lynn Shaffer ’09, was initiated by the Caruth School of Dental Hygiene Class of 2009. The scholarship is awarded to the senior dental hygiene student who has shown true leadership capabilities, past academic achievement, financial need, and who has served the community. Schweers served as class vice president, member of the student council, peer tutor and member of the Student Assessment Advisory Committee.